True Chaos. Thoughts from #TruLondon…

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to make the ‘aftershow’ curry tweetup last night (although the #pubtrack was rather good!) but it gave me a chance to reflect on the day and note down my key takaways, which were:

  • Its taken 10 years for clients and recruiters to start thinking about the candidate lifecycle and experience in the same way we thought about the customer experience
  • It will probably take employers another 10 years to start thinking about the employee lifecycle and experience in the same way, which is a big problem
  • Our friends from across the pond reminded us yet again that talking to people and direct sourcing is still very much the smart way to recruit and that we have become lazy as recruiters in the UK by resorting so much to job board use.
  • We are in danger of becoming obsessed with labels when talking about generational differences, which is a shame.
  • The ‘unstructured’ nature of the conference was much more interactive and stimulating than a normal conference

Overall there were some good discussions but there was also a lot of what we have heard before.  One session, for example, descended into the usual dialogue, pitting HR against recruiter out of which we learnt nothing new.  Also, I have to say that the organisation on day 1 was appalling – there I have said it.  I feel the need to say it because I was a paying customer and I feel that the value derived was lower than it could have been.  I have high hopes for day 2 as I understand that the tracks will be in separate rooms – we shall see!

Ultimately though, one of the key takaway’s for me was more of a philosophical one, and that came from the Gen X/Gen Y track.  It was a very emotive dialogue, with @lucianT @mervyndinnen @siteadvisor @ohsosarah @stevenewson and others making their points well.  Ultimately, things repeat themselves and nothing about the needs, desires or indeed potential of the different generations is unique.  And I’m hating the way we are categorising individuals now, as it serves only to polarise people, which it did to some extent yesterday.  However, one thing that is different is the potential to connect and make a stand that we now all have thanks to technology and its adoption by the ‘younger generation’ – lets call them that.

25 years ago, if i wanted to start a movement or make a serious statement, I had to do what Keith had done in the past – go down to Trafalgar square and throw bottles at policemen and hope that it was picked up by mainstream media.  Yes, apparently that was him, dressed up in full punk regalia!  However, thanks to technology, social media AND the nature of the younger generation we can now throw bottles ‘on the web’.

I love the fact that I can put my hand up, here in the UK and say ‘As a dad, I fear for my children.  I think we have got it wrong and we need to do something’.  And then someone on the opposite side of the world can put their hand up and say ‘Me too!’  And before you know it, a million people have joined in and the movement for reform has started.  As time goes by, the noise will be deafening and I have high hopes for the change this can bring.

Without the persistence of this younger generation (I refuse to label them any more) I seriously doubt that as a member of the ‘not so younger’ generation, my voice would be heard.

Leave a comment